Healthy, Inexpensive Breakfast Served Up in No Time

This site has been officially moved to a new domain, http://www.myhalalkitchen.com. Please visit there to see what’s cooking!

I made the mistake of not preparing this breakfast the night before. If I had, I am guessing this morning instead of taking 40 minutes to set the table and serve the food, it might have taken me not more than 10 minutes to do.

This breakfast is so healthy and so simple to make, not to mention inexpensive. Instead of sugary and expensive cereals, breakfast bars and muffins, I opted for more protein and healthy dairy, fruit and herbal tea this morning.

On the menu:
Cheese and Olive Plate: Feta, smoked mozzarella, sour cream and cream cheese- each sprinkled with dried parsley flakes and olive oil; mixed olives in the middle

Hard Boiled Eggs: Thinly sliced, these were great with the bread and cheeses.

Artisanal Wheat Bread: If you don’t have time to bake your own, buy from a grocery store, bakery or farmer’s market. Be sure to buy only whole grain bread for optimal health benefits.

Plain Yogurt: Goes great on your bread and with the eggs. You could also mix some fruit in it to reduce some of the sour taste of plain yogurt.

Fruit Plate: Today I arranged dates, oranges and sliced bananas because that’s what I had on hand. Serve whatever is fresh and seasonal.

Blueberry Flavored Herbal Tea: This Bigelow tea was absolutely delicious. I love all flavors of herbal teas and coffees in the morning, so long as it’s nice and hot and goes along with the meal. Just makes the morning a bit easier… (http://www.bigelowtea.com/)

What are your ideas for a quick, healthy and inexpensive breakfast?

Copyright 2008-2009 My Halal Kitchen

Copyright 2008-2009 My Halal Kitchen

Copyright 2008-2009 My Halal Kitchen

Copyright 2008-2009 My Halal Kitchen

Copyright 2008-2009 My Halal Kitchen

Copyright 2008-2009 My Halal Kitchen

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://halalkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/02/03/healthy-inexpensive-breakfast-served-up-in-no-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Masha’ allah! I love your site. And also, your food ideas. Keep up the good work. Asalamu Aiolaykum.

  2. Awesome issues here. I am very happy to peer
    your post. Thanks a lot and I am taking a look ahead to
    contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  3. Awesome issues here. I am very happy to peer your post.
    Thanks a lot and I am taking a look ahead to contact you.
    Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  4. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love wwhat youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people
    could connect witrh it better. Youve got an awful lot of
    text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could spwce it out better?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

